The Very Worst Missionary

Author: Jamie Wright

Publisher: Convergent Books

ISBN: 045149654X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 7133


“The reason you love Jamie (or are about to) is because she says exactly what the rest of us are thinking, but we’re too afraid to upset the apple cart. She is a voice for the outlier, and we’re famished for what she has to say.” --Jen Hatmaker, New York Times bestselling author of Of Mess and Moxie and For the Love Wildly popular blogger "Jamie the Very Worst Missionary" delivers a searing, offbeat, often hilarious memoir of spiritual disintegration and re-formation. As a quirky Jewish kid and promiscuous punkass teen, Jamie Wright never imagines becoming a Christian, let alone a Christian missionary. She is barely an adult when the trials of motherhood and marriage put her on an unexpected collision course with Jesus. After finding her faith at a suburban megachurch, Jamie trades in the easy life on the cul-de-sac for the green fields of Costa Rica. There, along with her family, she earnestly hopes to serve God and change lives. But faced with a yawning culture gap and persistent shortcomings in herself and her fellow workers, she soon loses confidence in the missionary enterprise and falls into a funk of cynicism and despair. Nearly paralyzed by depression, yet still wanting to make a difference, she decides to tell the whole, disenchanted truth: Missionaries suck and our work makes no sense at all! From her sofa in Central America, she launches a renegade blog, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary, and against all odds wins a large and passionate following. Which leads her to see that maybe a "bad" missionary--awkward, doubtful, and vocal—is exactly what the world and the throngs of American do-gooders need. The Very Worst Missionary is a disarming, ultimately inspiring spiritual memoir for well-intentioned contrarians everywhere. It will appeal to readers of Nadia Bolz-Weber, Jen Hatmaker, Ann Lamott, Jana Reiss, Mallory Ortberg, and Rachel Held Evans.

The Digital Evangelicals

Author: Travis Warren Cooper

Publisher: Indiana University Press

ISBN: 0253062276

Category: Computers

Page: 378

View: 7553


-- Author is based in Bloomington, IN -- The author was International Studies Research Fellow in a project called Lived Religion in the Digital Age. For half of this study, he spent five years with a progressive religious community in Bloomington. He has knowledge of our local that can have a global influence. His writing moves swiftly between narrating stories from his fieldwork to outlining how these stories contributed to discoveries about religion in a booming digital culture. -- This book stands out as the only that combines online observations and analyses of online interaction with detailed observations of everyday evangelical life, focusing on a group of Midwestern evangelicals and digital connoisseurs. Comparative titles with overlap don't go beyond evangelical bloggers. -- The method behind the author's expertise is to look at media within the cultural contexts of the human experience. This relates directly to a strategic building opportunity from IUP's 2017 plan for the film and media list. -- Target audience includes our film and media studies, religious studies, and anthropology lists. Midwesterners interested in religion generally might pick this up.

Decolonizing Mission Partnerships

Author: Taylor Walters Denyer

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 1725259117

Category: Religion

Page: 364

View: 2683


We all know that healthy partnerships are essential to fruitful boundary-crossing ministries, but how exactly do we create them? What barriers must be overcome, and what self-examination must we do? How do the legacies of colonialism, racism, and unhealed trauma impact missional collaborations today? In this doctoral thesis, Denyer reflects on these questions as she examines the history of relational dynamics between American and Congolese United Methodists in the North Katanga Conference (DR Congo). By surveying memoirs, magazines, and journals, and conducting in-depth interviews, Denyer presents a complex and multifaceted example of a partnership that is in the process of decolonizing. More than just a history lesson, Decolonizing Mission Partnerships presents the questions, hard truths, pitfalls, and toxic assumptions we must face when attempting to be in mission together.

For the Love

Author: Jen Hatmaker

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN: 0718031830

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 2675


For the Love is now a New York Times bestseller! Don't miss Jen's latest title, also a New York Times bestseller, Of Mess & Moxie. Best-selling author Jen Hatmaker is convinced life can be lovely and fun and courageous and kind. She reveals with humor and style how Jesus’ embarrassing grace is the key to dealing with life's biggest challenge: people. The majority of our joys, struggles, thrills, and heartbreaks relate to people, beginning with ourselves and then the people we came from, married, birthed, live by, go to church with, don’t like, don’t understand, fear, compare ourselves to, and judge. Jen knows how the squeeze of this life can make us competitive and judgmental, how we can lose love for others and then for ourselves. She reveals how to: Break free of guilt and shame by dismantling the unattainable Pinterest life. Learn to engage our culture’s controversial issues with a grace-first approach. Be liberated to love and release the burden of always being right. Identify the tools you already have to develop real-life, all-in, know-my-junk-but-love-me-anyway friendships. Escape our impossible standards for parenting and marriage by accepting the standard of “mostly good.” Laugh your butt off. In this raucous ride to freedom for modern women, Jen Hatmaker bares the refreshing wisdom, wry humor, no-nonsense faith, liberating insight, and fearless honesty that have made her beloved by women worldwide. For the Love is also available in Spanish, Por el amor de ...

The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of Sex and Sexuality

Author: Lori Watson,Clare Chambers,Brian D. Earp

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1000582027

Category: Philosophy

Page: 628

View: 8960


This Handbook covers the most urgent, controversial, and important topics in the philosophy of sex. It is both philosophically rigorous and yet accessible to specialists and non-specialists, covering ethics, political philosophy, metaphysics, the philosophy of science, and the philosophy of language, and featuring interactions with neighboring disciplines such as psychology, bioethics, sociology, and anthropology. The volume’s 40 chapters, written by an international team of both respected senior researchers and essential emerging scholars, are divided into eight parts: I. What is Sex? Is Sex Good? II. Sexual Orientations III. Sexual Autonomy and Consent IV. Regulating Sexual Relationships V. Pathologizing Sex and Sexuality VI. Contested Desires VII. Objectification and Commercialized Sex VIII. Technology and the Future of Sex The broad scope of coverage, depth in insight and research, and accessibility in language make The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of Sex and Sexuality a comprehensive introduction for newcomers to the subject as well as an invaluable reference work for advanced students and researchers in the field.

Ours to Explore

Author: Pippa Biddle

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 1640124780

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 272

View: 9532


In a 2014 essay that went viral, Pippa Biddle revealed the inequities and absurdities baked into voluntourism—the pairing of short-term, unskilled volunteer work with tourism. In the years since, Biddle has devoted herself to understanding the origins, intentions, and outcomes of a multibillion-dollar industry built on the premise of doing good, and she tracks that investigation in Ours to Explore. The flaws of voluntourism have included xenophobia, racism, paternalism, and a “West knows best” mentality. From exploitative orphanages that keep children in squalid conditions to attract donors to undertrained medical volunteers practicing their skills on patients in developing regions and to those looking for an inspiring selfie, Biddle reveals the hidden costs of the voluntourism complex. Along the way, readers meet inspiring activists and passionate community members, as well as thoughtful former voluntourists who still work to make a difference—just differently. Ours to Explore offers a plan for how the service-based travel industry can break the cycle of exploitation and suggests strategies for travelers who want to improve the places they visit for the long haul.

From One Missionary to Another

Author: Ryan Cragun

Publisher: Ryan Cragun

ISBN: 1411673417

Category: Religion

Page: 206

View: 9694


The book is intended to be a guide for Mormon missionaries who are planning on serving missions or are already on their missions.