Encyclopedia of the Wars of the Roses

Author: John A. Wagner

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1851093583

Category: History

Page: 367

View: 7654


This authoritative A–Z encyclopedia of the Wars of the Roses provides accurate and concise descriptions of the major battles and events and the principal historical figures and issues involved. * More than 275 entries and over 40 illustrations * A map of the Wars of the Roses battle sites * Guide to related topics, chronology, and genealogies * Table showing the involvement of the higher peerage in the Wars of the Roses * List of Popes and English church leaders in the 15th century * List of selected websites for 15th century topics

The Wars of the Roses

Author: Anthony Goodman

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 0415052645

Category: History

Page: 310

View: 8987


First published in 1990. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The Wars of the Roses

Author: Michael Hicks

Publisher: Yale.ORIM

ISBN: 0300170092

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 7104


A new assessment of the battle for the English throne: “All readers interested in late medieval history will appreciate this” (Library Journal). The Wars of the Roses (1455–85) were a major turning point in English history. But the underlying causes for the successive upheavals have been hotly contested by historians ever since. In this original and stimulating new synthesis, distinguished historian Michael Hicks examines the difficult economic, military, and financial crises and explains, for the first time, the real reasons why the conflicts between the House of Lancaster and the House of York began, why they kept recurring, and why, eventually, they ceased. Alongside fresh assessments of key personalities, Hicks sheds new light on the significance of the involvement of the people in politics, the intervention of foreign powers in English affairs, and a fifteenth-century credit crunch. Combining a meticulous dissection of competing dynamics with a clear account of the course of events, this is a definitive and indispensable history of a compelling, complex period.

Edward IV and the Wars of the Roses

Author: David Santiuste

Publisher: Grub Street Publishers

ISBN: 1844681505

Category: History

Page: 208

View: 6578


This fascinating account of an unsung English monarch and military leader is “a pleasing and well-informed appraisal of the first Yorkist king” (Dr. Michael Jones, author of Bosworth 1485: Psychology of a Battle). Indisputably the most effective general of the Wars of the Roses in fifteenth-century England, King Edward IV died in his bed, undefeated in battle. Yet he has never been accorded the martial reputation of other English warrior kings such as Henry V. It has been suggested that perhaps he lacked the personal discipline expected of a truly great army commander. But, as the author shows in this perceptive and highly readable new study, Edward was a formidable military leader whose strengths and subtleties have never been fully recognized—perhaps because he fought most of his battles against his own people in a civil war. This reassessment of Edward’s military skill—and of the Wars of the Roses in which he played such a vital part—provides fascinating insight into Edward the man as well as the politician and battlefield commander. Based on contemporary sources and the latest scholarly research, Edward IV and the Wars of the Roses stands as “a valuable and thought-provoking addition to the canon, which ought to become required reading for anyone interested in the reign of the first Yorkist monarch” (The Ricardian).

Wars of the Roses: Trinity

Author: Conn Iggulden

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0718196376

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 7422


The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Trinity, the second gripping novel in the new series from historical fiction master, Conn Iggulden. 1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness for over a year, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank. His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day know the love of his father. Richard Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colours in the name of Henry and his Queen. But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil. The clash of the Houses of Lancaster and York will surely mean a war to tear England apart . . . Following on from Stormbird, Trinity is the second epic instalment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden's new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word go. Praise for Stormbird: 'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action' Sunday Times 'Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent 'A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period' Daily Express 'A page-turning thriller' Mail on Sunday 'Superbly plotted and paced' The Times

The Wars of the Roses

Author: Alison Weir

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 462

View: 8148


The author of The Six Wives of Henry VIII chronicles the struggles of the Lancaster and York families to control the British monarchy, while offering profiles of such figures as Katherine of Valois, Elizabeth Wydville, and Margaret of Anjou.

Lancaster and York

Author: Alison Weir

Publisher: Arrow

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: 462

View: 9280


A riveting account of the Wars of the Roses, focusing on the human side of the story. The war between the houses of Lancaster and York for the throne of England was characterized by treachery, deceit and, at St. Albans, Blore Hill and Towton, some of the bloodiest and most dramatic battles on England’s soil. Between 1455 and 1487, the royal coffers were bankrupted and the conflict resulted in the downfall of the House of Lancaster and the House of York, and the emergence of the illustrious Tudor dynasty. Alison Weir’s lucid and gripping account focuses on the human side of history, on the people and personalities involved in the conflict. At the centre of the book stands Henry VI, the pious king whose mental instability led to political chaos; Richard Plantagenet, Duke of York and Henry’s rival; and most important of all, Margaret of Anjou, Henry’s wife who took up arms in her husband’s cause and battled for many years in a violent man’s world.

William Shakespeare, the Wars of the Roses and the Historians

Author: Keith Dockray

Publisher: Tempus Pub Limited

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 248

View: 944


For historians of the Wars of the Roses William Shakespeare is both a curse and a blessing, a curse because he immortalized Tudor spin on fifteenth-century civil wars that helped justify Elizabeth I's legitimate occupation of the throne; a blessing because, without Shakespeare's eight-play Plantagenet history cycle, hardly anyone beyond the confines of a few elite schools, universities and the Richard III Society would even know of their existence. Moreover, no mere historian will ever paint a more compelling and dramatic picture of England's Lancastrian and Yorkist kings, and the Wars of the Roses, than William Shakespeare. This book begins with an examination of the context, content and significance of Shakespeare's Richard II, Henry IV Parts 1 and 2, Henry V, Henry VI Parts 1, 2 and 3, and Richard III. It then considers the contemporary, near-contemporary and Tudor sources on which Shakespeare drew; how such authors chose to present fifteenth-century kings, politics and society; and why, and in what ways, historians since Shakespeare have sought to reinterpret the Wars of the Roses era. The book ends with a retrospective assessment of Shakespeare's Plantagenet plays, both in performance and as a result of their impact on historical writing.

The Wars of the Roses

Author: Christine Carpenter,Christine Carpenter, Ba Ma Dippt

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521318747

Category: History

Page: 316

View: 1311


This is a new interpretation of English politics during the extended period beginning with the majority of Henry VI in c. 1437 up to the accession of Henry VII in 1509. The later fifteenth century in England is a somewhat baffling and apparently incoherent period which historians and history students have found consistently difficult to handle. The large-scale 'revisionism' inspired by the classic work of K. B. McFarlane led to the first real work on politics, both national and local, but has left the period in a disjointed state: much material has been unearthed, but without any real sense of direction or coherence. This book places the events of the century within a clearly delineated framework of constitutional structures, practices and expectations, in an attempt to show the meaning of the apparently frenetic and purposeless political events which occurred within that framework - and which sometimes breached it. At the same time it takes cognisance of all the work that has been done on the period, including recent and innovative work on Henry VI.