The Way Home

Author: Kay Brellend

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0349415331

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 2749


A heartwarming saga about war, love and duty by the bestselling author of The Street and East End Angel. North London, 1916. When Olivia Bone and Lieutenant Lucas Black shared a passionate kiss one summer's evening, it seemed as if their love might finally have a chance to bloom. But their brief happiness is cut short when Lucas is sent to fight on the front line, leaving Livvie uncertain if she'll ever see him again. And after a chance encounter with one of Lucas's old flames, Livvie is left doubting whether an ex-factory girl like her will ever fit into his world - and wondering if she would be better off protecting her heart. While her friends in London busy themselves with marriage plans and dreams of babies, Livvie returns to France, throwing herself into her work as a war nurse on the Western Front. But when two German prisoners are admitted at the hospital, the dangers of war suddenly feel much closer to home - and Livvie is forced to be braver than she has ever been before . . . Can Livvie and Lucas find their way to a brighter future before the war tears them apart? Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Maureen Lee and Nadine Dorries. 'Vividly rendered' Historical Novel Society 'A fantastic cast of characters' Goodreads 'Thoroughly absorbing' Goodreads ________________________ The Bittersweet Legacy Series Book 1: A Sister's Bond Book 2: A Lonely Heart Book 3: The Way Home

The Way Home

Author: Megan Chance

Publisher: Megan Chance

ISBN: 1936632063

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 4787


Eliza Beaudry was determined to leave Richmond and poverty behind, and if that meant trading a few kisses for her freedom, she was more than willing to do so. When handsome gambler Cole Wallace sauntered into town, she saw in him her savior. But Cole's daydreams didn't include the poor daughter of a sharecropper, no matter how pretty, and when he left Richmond, he left Eliza behind, penniless, and in a world of trouble.With no other choices, Eliza turned to Cole's shy brother Aaron. He was nothing like the man of her dreams, nor was his farm in the middle of West Texas nowhere. But there was something about him ... and suddenly Eliza found herself questioning the life she'd always wanted and wondering ... could her dreams change?

The Way Home

Author: Alexandra Raife

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444769421

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 1529


The three sisters haven't been together for six years when they all gather at Calder Lodge in the wake of their stepmother's death. They quickly settle into the old sibling patterns: Vanessa, the eldest, clucks round like a mother hen; rebel Jamie, just back from America, is the outspoken one whose straight-talking isn't always to her sisters' taste; and Phil, the youngest, in the shadow of the other two, is willing to follow where they lead. But the familiar roles are deceptive. Vanessa's apparently happy marriage conceals domestic abuse; Jamie's successful career has ended in ruin and a broken heart; in fact it is Phil, always the low achiever, who has managed to make the most of her life. These secrets become apparent only after several months and the resolution of the various problems takes place against the breathtaking beauty of the Scottish Highlands. The sixth book in the Perthshire novels.

On the Way Home

Author: Skye Warren

Publisher: Book Beautiful

ISBN: 1940518105

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9261


"Dangerous, steamy, intense and emotional all in one fell swoop...Skye Warren definitely knows how to infuse just the right amount of high speed energy and intensity, to mix with the emotional side of things, to make a well rounded complete story." - Fictional Candy Clint For eight months I've been deep under cover as a special operator in the Army. On the plane ride home, all I want is a hot shower and a long sleep. But a Dear John text message leaves me stranded. I need a ride and a place to stay, and the pretty stewardess is more than willing. Della It's supposed to be a simple trade--the passenger in seat 34B for my sister. But the sexy soldier is more than I can handle in all the best ways. He trusts me, but I can't save him. No one can. Sometimes trouble has a way of following you home. **************** On the Way Home is a full-length new adult romantic suspense novel intended for readers over eighteen. Fair warning: Contains a hot army hero who knows how to follow orders. "On the Way Home has so many aspects that I love in a book: suspense, steamy sex, ruthless crime bosses, a military leading male, and dark, gritty, and twisty romance. I highly recommend this to readers that enjoy their romance with a dark, edgy, and suspenseful twist." - Tattooed Book Review "Clint is a sexy solider with a few secrets, Della is a gal that has a dark past with a few secrets of her own. Together they steam up the sheets and keep you on the edge of your seat." - Red's Hot Reads “The book is also full of suspense, if you can’t read it all the way through in one sitting at the beach or pool you will be thinking about the characters and the situations until you can finish. It keeps you going till the end. Della has to make some big sacrifices to save the ones she loves. The idea of choosing family or the love of your life is compelling and heartbreaking.” – Red Cheeks Reads “So Clint and Della have to be the hottest pick me up at the airport and bring me home to kink me hookup ever…I loved On the Way Home!” – She Hearts Books “Skye Warren has created a unique romantic suspense that edges on the dark side but is safe for lighter readers as well. With a good balance of sexual heat and story, this book delivers.” – Guilty Indulgence Book Club

Finding the Way Home

Author: Roselin Casanova

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1532013833

Category: Fiction

Page: 104

View: 1916


Finding the Way Home tells the story of Julia, a woman who discovers that her innate ability to see things brings with it both challenges and possibilities. Some people think she suffers from hallucinations. She comes to wonder whether her visions depict reality. She comes to feel that someone or something beyond her is trying to send her a message. Finally, she seeks to discover how her visions and passions for caring for others may lead her to a crossroads. She wonders where she will go and what she will do. The author, Roselin Casanova, has woven key strands from her own life into the character of Julia and the story Finding the Way Home tells. She is naturally compassionate, caring, and attuned to the intangible and creative facets of life. These qualities find their way from the authors reflections, through her pen, and into the life of Julia. In this novel, Julia finds her gift for visions leading her to a spiritual crossroads where she faces the choice between safety and using her natural skills as a comforter to help others.

Coming All the Way Home

Author: Fred McCarthy

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 1476684707

Category: History

Page: 207

View: 1311


In 1968, twenty-one-year-old Fred McCarthy transitioned from the monastic life of a seminary student to that of a U.S. Army helicopter gunship commander in Vietnam. Despite preparation from a family tradition of decorated combat service, a strong sense of patriotism, a love for aviation, and a desire for adventure, he got far more than he bargained for. Written after 50 years of reflection, reading, and study, this memoir tells both a universal story about war, adventure, and perseverance and, also shares the intensely personal experience of the Vietnam War and its legacy for those who fought in it. McCarthy describes many of his missions, reflects on the nature of being a combat helicopter pilot, and processes the experience through his poetry, letters home, and reflective analysis.

The Way Home

Author: Elizabeth W. Brewster

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Canadian poetry

Page: 104

View: 6736


On My Way Home

Author: Christoffel Hendrickx

Publisher: Balboa Press

ISBN: 1504319451

Category: Fiction

Page: 220

View: 8034


In a time of global awakening, a young woman and an enigmatic man fortuitously meet far away from home. Marina and Tiger try to make ends meet and look for the best life has to offer. Soon, their expectations clash, and after a climactic conflict, they break up. As Tiger drifts away, Marina is inspired by his notes and determined to write down his story as he would have told it, learning more about herself and the true nature of love in every scribble. Tiger’s story is a turbulent tale of a sensitive man who tries to understand the world and wants to elevate it to a more humane state. He is chased by a series of strange coincidences that challenge him to adjust his view and purify his mind. With settings in some of the most beautiful places on earth, On My Way Home, dissects our world and reveals its true nature. The reader has a choice: read the book as Tiger’s rollercoaster ride into awareness or as Marina’s testimony to the challenges of unconditional love.

The Journey Home

Author: Brandon Wallace

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1481432680

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 208

View: 3339


Two brothers must rely on all their wilderness skills to survive their journey home after reuniting with their father and living off the grid in the second adventure of the Wilder Boys series. At the start of the summer, Jake and Taylor Wilder set out on the adventure of a lifetime. After seeing their mother loaded into an ambulance because of Bull, her terrifying boyfriend, the boys know they are no longer safe. So they go in search of their father, who has been living off the grid in Wyoming. After jumping trains, hitching a ride with a truck driver, and hiding in the luggage compartment of a tour bus, the boys finally find him in Grand Teton National Park. Just as the boys are getting used to their father’s lifestyle—and his “my way is the only way” attitude—they learn that their mother is still alive. But if the brothers don’t give back the money they took from Bull last year, she could be taken away from them…for good. Convinced that their father isn’t going to help, the Wilder boys set out on their own again. It’s a long way from Wyoming to Pittsburgh, and with winter approaching there will be new challenges. But they have to get back. Will the brothers be able to make it back to their mother before it’s too late?