The Worst Date Ever

Author: Jane Bussmann

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 0230741959

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 5516


When scriptwriter Jane Bussmann (South Park, The Fast Show, Brass Eye and Smack the Pony) moved to Hollywood, it was supposed to be the start of something better. But a day job interviewing Paris, Britney and Co. left her trapped in the Golden Age of Stupid. Then she saw a photograph of John Prendergast in Vanity Fair. His day job was ending war. He was also extremely attractive. Jane 'may have inferred she was a Foreign Correspondent', because suddenly she found herself on route to Africa on the trail of this modern-day Indiana Jones. There was one problem: when she got to Uganda John had left. Alone in a war-torn country, appalled by 25,000 child abductions, Jane must investigate the war crime of the century – to make John fancy her. Combining a maverick heroine, an idealist hero, comic disasters and moving tragedy, this is brilliant storytelling by a hugely talented writer. ‘Jane Bussmann’s romantic odyssey from Hollywood to Uganda is the funniest thing we’ve ever read.’ Instyle Hot List ‘a marvellously maverick approach to the investigation of war crimes.’ Marie Claire Five Stars ‘Imagine The Last King of Scotland written by Shazzer from Bridget Jones’s Diary, and you’d still only get halfway to appreciating Jane Bussmann’s funny, incongruous and artlessly perceptive account... this is one of the funniest books I've read for a long while' The Sunday Times 'hilarious and heart-wrenching' The Spectator

Blind Dates

Author: Gordon Macmillan

Publisher: Hera books Ltd

ISBN: 1804369144

Category: Fiction

Page: 332

View: 2689


Is true love just a few dates away...or even closer than you think? Tom has always been a hopeless romantic: but now he's just hopeless. After lockdown in particular made the millennial a reclusive introvert, it was finally time to get back 'out there' – at least according to his best friends Adam, Allison and sister Sarah. As the group sets up 10 dates to rejuvenate Tom's love life, he soon realises how difficult the dating scene has become, along with juggling his Shakespearean-themed cafe and a hobby of romantic mixtape making. As some of the dates turn into disasters, an old flame keeps reappearing in Tom's sight – along with bitter-sweet memories. Fearing it may be too little too late, Tom must decide whether he can date his way to happiness, or find his true match was under his nose the whole time... A warm, uplifting read about finding love while also finding yourself, for fans of Mike Gayle and Hazel Prior. Readers are swiping right for Blind Dates: 'Fun, funny, fabulous and has a few more twists than the normal meet-cute book.’ Reader Review ‘Touching and heartbreaking...surprisingly poignant...a wonderful read.’ Reader Review ‘There are so many laugh out loud moments and many omg what? moments in this book.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review ‘This book was such a delight to read! I know others will see its charm as well!’ Reader Review ‘This book was cute...a unique, easy read with a couple of twists that were unexpected!’ Reader Review Praise for Gordon MacMillan: ‘Delightful. Pulled at my heart strings...I would totally recommend this as a feelgood book.’ Reader Review ‘What a beautifully emotive read... The perfect feelgood read that will make you laugh and cry.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review ‘A heart-wrenching, heart-warming story of a young man forced by circumstance to become an instant dad... a lovely read about growing into responsibility and love.’ Reader Review ‘This book is amazing!...If you love a story about parenthood, romance, and friendship I would recommend this book to you!’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review ‘What a beautiful and heartbreaking story! I fell in love with this book!’ Reader Review ‘My heart is just so full from this book... Watching Johnny navigate his unexpected new fatherhood was so gentle and raw.’ Reader Review ‘I really enjoyed this book...It's heart-breaking and feel-good all at the same time’ Reader Review ‘This was a heart-warming, emotional story... The final chapter had me in tears.’ Reader Review

The One That I Want

Author: Lynne Shelby

Publisher: Accent Press Ltd

ISBN: 178615384X

Category: Fiction

Page: 274

View: 3769


Fame can bring fortune - but can it bring love? 'Warm-hearted, romantic, and beautifully written' KATE FIELD, author of A Place to Begin Again When Lucy Ashford lands a top job at a leading theatrical agency in London, work mixes with pleasure, as she literally falls into the arms of Hollywood heartthrob Daniel Miller. Handsome, charming and irresistible, Daniel is just what unlucky-in-love Lucy needs, and she is quickly drawn into his glittering celebrity lifestyle. But can she tame the A-list bad boy or is she just one more girl in Daniel s long line of conquests? And then there's up-and-coming actor Owen Somers, fiercely talented but as yet uncast in a starring role. After she takes him onto the agency's books, Owen and Lucy's friendship slowly grows. If she looks closely, Lucy's leading man might be right before her very eyes... ________ Readers LOVE Lynne's swoon-worthy romances: 'Well this is a wonderfully, romantic story! This is the first book I have read by Ms Shelby and I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I am looking forward to reading more from this talented author. The One That I Want is fun, entertaining and very romantic' Amazon reviewer 'Shelby's writing style transports you so completely into the world of her characters that I actually dreamt about Owen Somers! I loved reading this book and found it to be the perfect balance of romantic, unpredictable and fast paced. I really didn't want it to end' Amazon reviewer 'This was a perfect weekend read. It whisked me away from rainy reality to the glamorous celebrity world in London... The story raced along with plenty of twists and turns; I had no idea how it was going to end, or which way I wanted it to end. Warm-hearted, romantic and beautifully written - I loved it' Amazon reviewer 'Lynne Shelby has given us a glamorous, fun and compulsive read in her fabulous The One That I Want. I was rooting for the heroine Lucy all the way through and enjoyed every twist and turn of the plot... I thoroughly recommend this fresh, sparkling book - it's the one that you want!' Amazon reviewer 'A believable and fun escape into the world of celebrity and showbiz... Very enjoyable read, with a most satisfactory ending' Amazon reviewer 'A very well told story, of things that glitter brightly , but are rarely gold. Lovely believable charters with a good dollop of romance' Amazon reviewer 'I really enjoyed this book. Lovely characters, lovely story and very well written. I will buy more books by this author' Amazon reviewer

The Setup

Author: Ofelia Gränd

Publisher: JMS Books LLC

ISBN: 1685503225

Category: Fiction

Page: 68

View: 378


Three years ago, Dax Howard got out of a bad relationship and swore never to date again. He loves his picturesque cabin outside Nortown and is looking forward to three weeks of quiet over the holidays. He hadn't foreseen a stranger turning in on his driveway in the middle of a snowstorm, claiming he's there for a date. Ellis Rush has risked his neck driving in a snowstorm to meet his friend Daniel and his boyfriend Dom for a double date he agreed to go on as a favor. Reaching the destination, he can't see Daniel's car anywhere, and when the mountain of a man opening the door says he's never agreed to go on a double date, Ellis realizes he's been played. The more Ellis explains the situation, the more annoyed Dax gets. Dom is one of his closest friends, and he does not appreciate the setup, no matter how intrigued he is by Ellis. Since the roads are undrivable, Dax invites Ellis to stay, and together they plot their revenge. Cooking for Ellis, kissing Ellis, and sleeping next to Ellis isn't the same thing as dating, is it?

Pawn

Author: Vee Anderson

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1105072851

Category: Fiction

Page: 486

View: 4610


Lilly is just an ordinary 29 year old woman living an unextraordinary life in Toronto. Working two jobs doesn't leave her much time to do anything and that includes finding Mr. Right but she has met some Mr. Wrongs along the way. Until one night her best friend drags her out dancing and Lilly meets Miles who in her eyes is Mr. Perfect. Well she thinks he's Mr. Perfect, he's gorgeous, he's sweet, he treats her like a queen but there's a catch, Mr. Perfect isn't human. Lilly's life goes from boring to adventourous with some life threatening and altering twists as she begins her new life with Miles.

Last of the Summer Vines

Author: Romy Sommer

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008301131

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 4220


‘A gorgeous love letter to Italy’ Josie Silver ‘All I can picture is myself in Tuscany...A book that will sweep you away’ Jo Watson, bestselling author of Love to Hate You Love grows where you least expect to find it...

The Worst Date Ever

Author: Jane Bussmann

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 9780330457651

Category: British

Page: 388

View: 4345


Film and cinema.

Of Claws and Fangs

Author: Faith Hunter

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0593334353

Category: Fiction

Page: 353

View: 4062


New York Times bestselling author Faith Hunter presents a stunning collection of stories from the world of shape-shifting vampire hunter Jane Yellowrock and beyond. Collected together for the first time, this volume contains shorter works featuring heroines Jane Yellowrock and Nell Ingram, as well as a host of other characters from the Jane Yellowrock and Soulwood series. Faith Hunter is “an expert at creating worlds filled with intriguing supernatural elements and exciting scenarios”* and her skills are on full display in this collection. From a vampire-filled Halloween evening in New Orleans to the searing tale of how a certain were-leopard first got his spots, this collection has something for everyone, and each story is sure to put the super in supernatural. With eighteen stories in all, Of Claws and Fangs will enrich and entertain—it’s a must-have for Faith Hunter’s readers and all lovers of fantasy. *RT Book Reviews

Worst Date Ever

Author: J S Cooper

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 368

View: 9294


"Go on a date," she said. "You'll love it," she said. She was wrong! It had been one year, two months and seventeen days since my last date. So my best friend Abby decided to sign me up for a dating app. She guaranteed that she could get me the best date of my life within one week. I didn't really want to do it, but I figured what did I have to lose? Turns out that I had: 1. $500 2. My dignity 3. My patience and 4. My innocence to lose OK, so I didn't really have my innocence to lose, but believe you me, Jack Morrison was my worst date ever. And I've been on a lot of bad dates. Trust me when I say that that was the longest ten hours and 33 minutes of my life. I never wanted to see or speak to him again. But it turns out you don't always get what you want in life, because Jack showed up the very next day at a family gathering I was attending as a fake plus one. As you can imagine that was a real pickle, Jack wanted to know why I went on a date with him when I'm dating someone else. But he can't know the whole complicated truth of the matter. I'm in a fake relationship and now I'm being blackmailed by the worst date ever. That's not even the worst part. I decided to log onto this new app called "confession board" to seek some advice, but it turns out Jack Morrison is absolutely everywhere and he's not going to leave me alone until I submit to his demands.