Thirty Seconds to Impact

Author: Peter Burkill,Maria Burkill

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1449088589

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 340

View: 5018


Subtitle from cover [the captain's story of Flight BA38]

THIRTY SECONDS TO MIDNIGHT

Author: ELGIN J. DOBBINS

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781456744427

Category: Fiction

Page: 664

View: 4210


The world is a complex creation and has become more so over the millennia. When one considers how far the world has come since creation, and the direction in which it is going in the modern era, something must be done. Into this world we see Richard Moses who is a simple man with old fashion values. He lives in a part of the country where these traits are admired. Richard Moses is a man of conviction and has always tried to do the right thing in everything he does. Th is has endeared him in the eyes of the Lord. Because of this, GOD looks upon him with favor; and because of his righteous living, GOD chose to visit him. Th e purpose of the visit from the Lord was to tell him about an event that would change the world forever. GOD charged him with letting the world know about this event. Richard reluctantly takes on the task, but did not realize how diffi cult it would be. Every form of human emotion is experienced, and he becomes the apex of a battle between the forces of good and the forces of evil. Th e sacrifi ces he made in the name of GOD were enormous; and potentially lethal to him and selected members of his family.

To Future Days

Author: James Van Dycke

Publisher: Dorrance Publishing

ISBN: 1480958026

Category: Fiction

Page: 108

View: 7067


To Future Days By: James Van Dycke To Future Days is a science fiction adventure in which people are not only attached to computers and technology, but they have become them.

Empire Rising

Author: Rick Campbell

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 180032068X

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1469


For a devastating new force to rise, another must fall... China has a problem. Their limited supply of oil is threatening to derail its economic growth and prosperity. Having failed to win access to a greater supply diplomatically, they set their backup plan in motion: an invasion of Taiwan. The U.S. Pacific Fleet is the major military force in the area, and is sent in to repel the invading Chinese forces. But after a decades-long, top-secret buildup, China has military capabilities far greater than the United States is aware of, and the U.S. Fleet is wiped out, leaving them free to put their true plan into motion. While the Atlantic Fleet surges westward to defend its allies and respond to the destruction of their counterparts, it falls to an unlikely alliance of three people to stop this incursion and prevent an all-but-inevitable global war. An absolutely scintillating military thriller with jaw-dropping action and suspense, perfect for fans of Stephen Coonts, Clive Cussler and Kyle Mills.

The Counterinsurgency Challenge

Author: Christopher D. Kolenda,Stanley A. Mcchrystal

Publisher: Stackpole Books

ISBN: 0811711773

Category: History

Page: 180

View: 4024


Instruction on the best ways to command a counterinsurgency operation, presented in the form of a parable in which a fictional commander participates in virtual reality simulations of various fictional combat situations that include elements of the conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan Explores the likely consequences of a range of command decisions based on lessons learned in current wars Emphasizes the need for a new approach to counterinsurgency operations, one not based on the standards of conventional warfare

Fortis Mission

Author: S. Y. Palmer

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN: 1789040922

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 216

View: 3015


Fifteen-year-old Michael May makes history as the first child in space and part of a crew to the far side of the moon. However, from the moment he docks at the International Space Station, things change... Theft, sabotage, and a shocking discovery threaten Michael May's mission to the moon and force him to act. If he can’t find the answers, the mission will fail. May's Moon: Fortis Mission is the second instalment in the May's Moon trilogy.

The Pacific Rim Collection

Author: Don Brown

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN: 0310342856

Category: Fiction

Page: 889

View: 8093


Bestselling author and former US Navy JAG Officer Don Brown’s Pacific Rim series is now available in one volume! Thunder in the Morning Calm Sixty years after his grandfather disappeared in Korea, a young naval intelligence officer seeks the truth behind rumors that American POWs are still being held there. Risking his life, fortune, and freedom, he leads a daring mission into the dangerous dictatorship of North Korea—all for the love of his country and a grandfather he never knew. Fire of the Raging Dragon In Fire of the Raging Dragon—the second book in best-selling author Don Brown’s Pacific Rim Series—Stephanie Surber is stationed on board a submarine tender in the South China Sea when a naval war breaks out. After a gruesome discovery escalates America’s involvement, Stephanie’s father, US President Douglas Surber, must choose to take a stand against evil . . . or save the life of his daughter. Storming the Black Ice When British geologists discover the world's largest oil reserves under the desolate, icy tundra of Antarctica, Britain and Chile form a top-secret alliance for control of petroleum resources that will rival the economic power of OPEC.

Flight of Faith

Author: Frederick Berretta

Publisher: TAN Books

ISBN: 1935302922

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 200

View: 765


Plunged into the icy waters of the Hudson...God spared Frederick Berretta's life in an instant -- and changed his heart forever. Frederick Berretta was an amateur pilot himself, so when U.S. Airways Flight 1549 struck a flock of geese and lost both engines, minutes after takeoff from Laguardia Airport on that fateful afternoon of January 15, 2009, he knew before most of his fellow passengers that something was seriously wrong. As the roar of the jets quieted and the aircraft ceased to climb, as the pilot guided the powerless plane towards a desperate crash landing and announced, "Brace for impact," Berretta fingered the prayer book in his pocket and tried to prepare himself for death. A multitude of thoughts flooded his mind all at once. He reminded himself that the odds of surviving a water landing were slim to none. He thought of his wife and his four children, and how they would miss him. He remembered he had just been to confession and to Mass, and he wondered if his soul would be ready to meet the Lord. And he knew he had to pray. "God, please be merciful to us, for the sake of your Son," he whispered. "Please spare us. I trust in you. Jesus, I trust in you. Mother of God, please pray for us." At that very instant, Berretta felt a "push" or "nudge" on his conscience; a state of awareness he'd never before experienced; and a keen realization that he had to do something. But what? Then God's voice sounded strong and clear in the depths of his soul: Are you going to accept My will for your life? For Frederick Berretta, the events of that fateful January day were the crystallizing moment of a lifetime of conversion. This story tells how he lost his childhood faith and as a young adult embraced a selfish, worldly life, how he suffered through family turmoil and the death of a child, and how by God's grace he slowly returned to the Church, humbled and grateful. God used the "Miracle on the Hudson" to confirm him in his faith and set him on fire to share it with others. Flight of Faith is the inspiring true story of how God works in our lives in simple and extraordinary ways. Read more at the Flight of Faith website.

Protocol 15: A Thriller

Author: Nathan Goodman

Publisher: Thought Reach Press

ISBN: 1514266733

Category: Fiction

Page: 334

View: 3104


Copyright 2018, Thought Reach, LLC. All rights reserved.

Paradigm Shift

Author: Harry S. Franklin

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595482589

Category: Fiction

Page: 412

View: 8234


Thirty-five-year-old Hank Foster, a former Special Forces soldier still reeling over the loss of his leg in combat, is recruited into a clandestine organization dedicated to attacking religious institutions. Impatient with the movement's slow progress, Hank subverts the powerful organization and uses their vast network to perpetrate a hoax he feels will rock the world and push the Iconoclast organization's agenda into the spotlight. The hoax succeeds beyond his wildest dreams and sets into motion a chain of events that bring a real extraterrestrial presence into the open. Earth is rocked by global catastrophe on a level never before imagined, and humanity is confronted by the prospect of alien invasion. Hank discovers a conspiracy as old as time itself. He learns he is responsible for the calamity facing humanity, and what's more, he learns he is the one man capable of exposing the truth that may lead to mankind's salvation. On its exterior, Paradigm Shift engages the reader with a visual, action-packed, Hollywood-styled blockbuster, but on a deeper, psychological level, the reader is taken along the hero's mythic journey to ultimately confront the true nature of humanity.