To Throw Away Unopened

Author: Viv Albertine

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571326234

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 6172


SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARDS 2018 What was I fighting for? Even now I'm not sure. Something so old and so deep, it has no words, no shape, no logic. Every memoir is a battle between reality and invention - but in her follow up to Clothes, Music, Boys, Viv Albertine has reinvented the genre with her unflinching honesty. To Throw Away Unopened is a fearless dissection of one woman's obsession with the truth - the truth about family, power, and her identity as a rebel and outsider. It is a gaping wound of a book, both an exercise in blood-letting and psychological archaeology, excavating what lies beneath: the fear, the loneliness, the anger. It is a brutal expose of human dysfunctionality, the impossibility of true intimacy, and the damage wrought upon us by secrets and revelations, siblings and parents. Yet it is also a testament to how we can rebuild ourselves and come to face the world again. It is a portrait of the love stories that constitute a life, often bringing as much pain as joy. With the inimitable blend of humour, vulnerability, and intelligence that makes Viv Albertine one of our finest authors working today, To Throw Away Unopened smashes through layers of propriety and leads us into a new place of savage self-discovery.

Balraj

Author: Manoj V Jain

Publisher: Notion Press

ISBN: 1947137387

Category: Fiction

Page: 150

View: 4677


Do you have the strength (or folly?) to give up everything in a quest to find happiness? Inder, age 47, a family man and a successful financial consultant decides to walk away from everything he knows and loves. He travels through the heart of India in search of himself, meeting new people, learning lessons and giving himself up to serendipity. Balraj is thought-provoking, troubling and even uplifting at times. Manoj Jain weaves a simple tale that explores the evolution of a soul-searcher through the travels of a man on a quest to find the answers he set out for.

Annual Reports

Author: John Stittle

Publisher: Gower Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 9780566084942

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 296

View: 3194


This book concentrates on ensuring that the 'corporate message' is communicated to stakeholders in a way that maximises the value of the annual report and outlines how this might best be achieved. It explains the importance not only of the quantitative (accounting) information but also the qualitative content such as the chairman's statement, directors' report, operating and financial review, explanatory notes and so on. Particular recognition is given to the legal, stock exchange and professional accounting requirements as well as to the increasingly important but more discretionary areas of content such as social, environmental and ethical reporting issues. Crucially, the book discusses the importance of electronic communication now that legislation allows companies to deliver information over the internet.On a practical level, the book takes the reader through the procedures and processes in actually managing the preparation and production of the report. Both the practical and theoretical aspects of the book are placed in context by the use of relevant extracts taken from 'real-life' annual reports of major organisations. By using these authentic examples the book clearly highlights what works and what doesn't.Ensure that your company's annual reports conform to the highest standards of best practice. Don't waste the opportunity to deliver your message.

Re-Entry

Author: Frederic-John Herriott

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1532019645

Category: Religion

Page: 306

View: 7445


Without a beginning, there can be no life. Without life, there can be no meaning. Without death, there can be no judgment. Without judgment, there can be no salvation. One’s destination—be it heaven or hell—is one’s own choice. Finally here is the book to help guide you in making the right choice!

Dear Reader

Author: Cathy Rentzenbrink

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1509891536

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 176

View: 6818


From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Last Act of Love, Cathy Rentzenbrink's Dear Reader is the ultimate love letter to reading and to finding the comfort and joy in stories. 'Exquisite' - Marian Keyes, author of Grown Ups 'A warm, unpretentious manifesto for why books matter’ - Sunday Express Growing up, Cathy Rentzenbrink was rarely seen without her nose in a book and read in secret long after lights out. When tragedy struck, it was books that kept her afloat. Eventually they lit the way to a new path, first as a bookseller and then as a writer. No matter what the future holds, reading will always help. A moving, funny and joyous exploration of how books can change the course of your life, packed with recommendations from one reader to another.

All the Ways the World Can End

Author: Abby Sher

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1471406555

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 1589


Heartfelt, funny, clever YA fiction to appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson, John Green, Jennifer Niven and Ava Dellaira Lenny is preparing for the apocalypse. Every night, she researches vacuum decay, designer pathogens, that inexplicable sleeping sickness knocking people out in Kazakhstan. Not many sixteen-year-olds are this consumed with the end of the world. But Lenny needs to have some sense of control. Her dad is dying of cancer. Her best friend Julian is graduating early and moving three states away. She's having to rehearse for a toe-curling interpretive dance show at school, and deal with her mum's indefatigable jolliness and smoothie-making in the face of the disaster they are confronting. The one thing keeping her hopeful is Dr Rad Ganesh - her father's oncologist. Surely Lenny can win him round to her charms - and he can save her father? An infectiously funny story with an unforgettable heroine: a story about having to learn to let go of what you hold most dear - and learning to survive.

Bitter Edge

Author: Rachel Lynch

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 1788632672

Category: Fiction

Page: 371

View: 515


DI Kelly Porter is back, but so is an old foe and this time he won’t back down... When a teenage girl flings herself off a cliff in pursuit of a gruesome death, DI Kelly Porter is left asking why. Ruled a suicide, there’s no official reason for Kelly to chase answers, but as several of her team’s cases converge on the girl’s school, a new, darker story emerges. One which will bring Kelly face-to-face with an old foe determined to take back what is rightfully his – no matter the cost. Mired in her pursuit of justice for the growing list of victims, Kelly finds security in Johnny, her family and the father she has only just discovered. But just as she draws close to unearthing the dark truth at the heart of her investigation, a single moment on a cold winter’s night shatters the notion that anything in Kelly’s world can ever truly be safe. Don't miss this gripping crime thriller featuring a phenomenal detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Patricia Gibney. Praise for Bitter Edge ‘What a nail-biter! I was with DI Kelly Porter every inch of the way and was a physical wreck by the end of the book‘ Carol Wyer, author of Little Girl Lost ‘Absolutely freaking brilliant!! This is book 4 in the DI Kelly Porter series and it has fast become one of my favourite series and it just gets better and better’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘The book's blurb promises this is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza. And it delivers on that promise’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Twisted spellbindingly brilliant read you will be missing out on such a good book if you don’t read this one. Audaciously Brilliant’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Another five star cracker of a DI Kelly Porter investigation!’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This book has the best opening chapter I have ever read’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Loved this book so much I went back and bought the rest of the series’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This is turning into a very addictive, sat on the edge of your seat and definitely wanting more series’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐