Too Scared To Cry

Author: Lenore Terr

Publisher: Basic Books

ISBN: 9780465086443

Category: Psychology

Page: 386

View: 1222


In 1976 twenty–six California children were kidnapped from their school bus and buried alive for motives never explained. All the children survived. This bizarre event signaled the beginning of Lenore Terr's landmark study on the effect of trauma on children. In this book Terr shows how trauma has affected not only the children she's treated but all of us.

Too Scared to Cry

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409167410

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 64

View: 9958


A digital short story from author and foster carer Maggie Hartley. Also contains a sneak peek chapter from Maggie's highly anticipated debut memoir, TINY PRISONERS. Brothers Ben and Damien are shockingly quiet when they arrive on Maggie's doorstep. They don't shout or play like normal three and four year olds. They hardly dare make a sound, so much have they been conditioned to be 'seen and not heard' by their mother and controlling stepfather. More disturbingly, their little baby half-brother Noah is completely unresponsive. He doesn't play, he doesn't smile, he doesn't crawl - he doesn't even cry. In a state of blankness brought about by emotional neglect, poor baby Noah is disconnected from the world. Maggie has never seen such a young life so affected before. Yet with time, love and care, Maggie gradually unpicks what has caused this terrible void. She teaches the children to play and laugh and to not be afraid to make noise. We see Ben, Damien and Noah take steps towards a positive future and their journey reaches a happy conclusion when they are adopted by a loving family. With love and affection, they are no longer scared to be themselves. They are free to make their voices heard.

Too Scared To Cry

Author: Lenore Terr

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0786725710

Category: Psychology

Page: 384

View: 1425


In 1976 twenty-six California children were kidnapped from their school bus and buried alive for motives never explained. All the children survived. This bizarre event signaled the beginning of Lenore Terr's landmark study on the effect of trauma on children. In this book Terr shows how trauma has affected not only the children she's treated but all of us.

Satanic Ritual Abuse

Author: Colin A. Ross

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 9780802073570

Category: Psychology

Page: 252

View: 633


. Although Dr. Ross has found no evidence of a widespread Satanic network, he is open to the possibility that a certain percentage of his patients' memories may be entirely or partially historically accurate. In treatment, he recommends that the therapist adopt an attitude hovering between disbelief and credulous entrapment.

Dick Grayson, Boy Wonder

Author: Kristen L. Geaman

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 1476620857

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 360

View: 9775


Dick Grayson—alter-ego of the original Robin of Batman comics—has gone through various changes in his 75 years as a superhero but has remained the optimistic, humorous character readers first embraced in 1940. Predating Green Lantern and Wonder Woman, he is one of DC Comics’ oldest heroes and retains a large and loyal fanbase. The first scholarly work to focus exclusively on the Boy Wonder, this collection of new essays features critical analysis, as well as interviews with some of the biggest names to study Dick Grayson, including Chuck Dixon, Devin Grayson and Marv Wolfman. The contributors discuss his vital place in the Batman saga, his growth and development into an independent hero, Nightwing, and the many storyline connections which put him at the center of the DC Universe. His character is explored in the contexts of feminism, trauma, friendship, and masculinity.

Groomed to be a Bride

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409197441

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 240

View: 2679


A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Britain's most-loved foster carer, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson. When a terrified young girl is discovered hiding in the back of a lorry, she is quickly taken into the care of social services. Arriving on the doorstep of foster carer Maggie Hartley, she is painfully thin, bruised and unable to speak a word of English. What atrocities has she escaped to bring her here? Woken each night by the screams of Halima's nightmares, Maggie is desperate to reach this damaged young girl. But without a shared language, she fears that she may never uncover the truth behind her terror. Can Maggie help Halima recover from the horrors she has endured, and help her build a new life for herself? Or will Halima forever be haunted by the ghosts of her past?

Cop Doc

Author: Daniel M Rudofossi

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 1351969455

Category: Psychology

Page: 306

View: 2861


Cop Doc delivers a unique map of police psychology. Retired NYPD sergeant Daniel Rudofossi delivers compelling inside scoops: the first-grade detective who nailed the Times Square bomber, intelligence enigmas unraveled by the DEA intelligence chief, wisdom culled from a best-selling novelist, a NYPD detective captain’s narrative of the Palm Sunday Massacre, and much more. The book also includes an interview with a captain of hostage negotiations and a preface by the founder of the NYPD department of psychological services. Both students and seasoned professionals can find insights into policing and forensic psychology in these pages.

Transactional Analysis Psychotherapy

Author: Petruska Clarkson

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134967616

Category: Psychology

Page: 364

View: 4929


Transactional Analysis Psychotherapy: An Integrated Approach is the first advanced clinical textbook for many years, written for psychotherapists and counsellors who use the theory and techniques of Transactional Analysis in their practice or who are interested in expanding their repertoire. Clarkson provides a comprehensive guide to goal-setting and clinical planning for every stage of treatment. Not only a practical textbook relevant to modern developments in supervision, but one which makes a new and original contribution to ways of thinking about transference and countertransference, the theory of self and the process of psychotherapeutic change.

Illinois to Oregon—Lionbergers

Author: Glen B. Lionberger

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1532014392

Category: History

Page: 365

View: 2895


Farming at the turn of the century was a hard row to hoe, especially in Nebraska. Relive Albert S. Lionberger familys trials and tribulations, growth, and romance with his branch of the Illinois Lionbergers and their farming and family ventures and adventures in Nebraska at the beginning of the twentieth century. Drought, tornado, prairie fires, advent of automobiles, airplanes, phonographs, telephones, and motion pictures brought drama and magic to their lives, usually filled with dreary days of drudgery on their isolated farm near N. Platte. Later, Als dream of Oregon was after replanting in Washington and Idaho for the next decade as some of his boys reached manhood, their own farming, business, and family enterprises, in spite of youthful brainstorms, domestic terrorism, and WWI military experiences.

Running On Sand

Author: Linda Anne Atterton

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1483450562

Category: Fiction

Page: 254

View: 2523


When Grace's father dies she is left with an uncaring mother and a brother, Chris, who becomes the centre of her world of sea and sand on the windswept North Norfolk coast. Grace's mother remarries, and her rich stepfather pays for Chris to go to boarding school. Knowing that his dream is to become a doctor, Grace lets him go. The price she pays for her brother's dream is her own nightmare in the hands of her stepfather. She finds a way to escape by pretending she is somewhere safe, by turning into something else. But how safe is the sea? How long can you hold your breath before you drown? When Grace, in desperation, turns to the sea for help what will the sea demand from her in return? This poignant story of love and loss pulls no punches. It carries us through sunshine and shadow to a terrible end that must become, somehow, a new beginning...