Too Young to be a Mum

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409170543

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 288

View: 3296


When sixteen-year-old Jess arrives on foster carer Maggie Hartley's doorstep with her newborn son Jimmy, she has nowhere else to go. Arriving straight from the hospital having just given birth, Jess is like a rabbit caught in the headlights. Scared, alone, and practically a child herself, she is overwhelmed with the responsibility of caring for a newborn without the support of a loving family or her beloved boyfriend. With social services threatening to take baby Jimmy into care, Jess knows that Maggie is her only chance of keeping her son. Maggie can see that Jess loves her boyfriend and wants to be a good mother to her son. Can Maggie help Jess learn to become a mum? Will the family ever be allowed to live together?

Who Will Love Me Now?

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409170586

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 304

View: 3862


Sunday Times bestselling foster carer Maggie Hartley faces one of the toughest challenges of her career when she is forced to choose between two children in her care. A heartbreaking true story perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis. ***** THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER At just ten years old, Kirsty has already suffered a lifetime of heartache and suffering. Neglected by her teenage mother and taken into care, Kirsty thought she had found her forever family when she is fostered by Pat and Mike, who she comes to see as her real mum and dad. But when Pat has a heart attack and collapses in front of her, Kirsty's foster family say it's all her fault. They blame her temper tantrums for putting Pat under stress and they don't want Kirsty in their lives anymore. Kirsty is still reeling from this rejection when she comes to live with foster carer Maggie Hartley. She acts out, smashing up Maggie's home and even threatens to hurt the baby boy Maggie has fostered since birth. Social Services must take Kirsty's threat seriously and Maggie is forced to choose between eight-month-old Ryan, who she's grown to love, or angry Kirsty, who will most likely end up in a children's home if Maggie can no longer care for her. Maggie is in an impossible position, one that calls in to question her decision to become a foster carer in the first place... An inspiring and heartwarming read, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis. Discover why readers are loving Maggie Hartley "I can honestly say nothing has gripped me like this for years, I am just devouring each book one by one!" - Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars "This was the first book that I had read by Maggie Hartley but it definitely won't be the last. Couldn't put it down and many tears. Absolutely loved it." - Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars "I absolutely loved this book. It is up there with one of the best. I have laughed and I have cried. I would give it ten stars if I could." - Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars

Daddy's Little Soldier

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409189031

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 256

View: 7374


Quiet and polite, obsessively neat, clean and tidy, eight-year-old Tom is unlike any child Maggie has ever fostered before. Tom has been taken into care following concerns that his dad is struggling to cope after the death of Tom's mum. At first, Maggie doesn't know what to make of this shy, nervous little boy who never cries and is terrified of getting dirty. But as Tom's cleaning rituals start to get more extreme, Maggie fears that there's something more sinister going on beneath the surface. When she meets Tom's dad Mark, a stern ex-soldier and strict disciplinarian, it's clear that Tom's life at home without his mummy has been a constant battlefield. Can Maggie help Mark to raise a son and not a soldier? Or is little Tom going to lose his daddy too?

The Accidental Family

Author: Rowan Coleman

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473527333

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 5484


Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella, this is a funny, warm-hearted novel from the author of The Memory Book, which was featured in the Richard & Judy book club 2014 'I immediately read The Memory Book and it's WONDERFUL ... I'm so happy because she's written other books and its so lovely to find a writer you love who has a backlist' Marian Keyes Six months ago, city girl Sophie Mills gave up everything to move to Cornwall. All to be with the man she thinks she loves, and his two daughters who she knows she loves. But adjusting to life as a semi-permanent mother in the countryside isn't quite as easy as Sophie imagined it would be. Designer shoes aren't nearly so readily available - not that she ever has any occasion to wear them - and her best pair of vintage Manolo's have already found their way into the girls' dressing-up box. Sometimes Sophie doesn't recognise herself; which most of the time makes her happy but every now and then scares her to death. The hardest thing of all is making that final commitment to actually move in with Louis and the girls - she's been the longest paying guest of the Avalon B&B, St Ives in the history of the establishment. And as she tries to adapt to country life, her newly adopted family and discovering more about Louis's past, she begins to wonder if she's got what it takes to make it all work...

Denied a Mummy

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409177106

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 304

View: 7971


When Maggie's latest placement arrives on her doorstep, it is clear that Sean, Dougie and their big sister Mary have been through unspeakable traumas in their short?lives. Violent and malnourished,?the siblings have been left to fend for themselves by their drug-addicted parents. Maggie must use all of her skills and experience as a foster carer to help these damaged siblings to learn to be children again. With much love, care and patience, their behaviour gradually starts to improve and social services start looking for a forever family for them. But alarm bells start to ring when Maggie meets the couple who have been matched to adopt the siblings. It is clear that they're looking for the perfect, ready-made family, and they're not going to get it with these vulnerable brothers and sister. Despite raising her concerns with social services, Maggie is powerless to prevent the adoption from going ahead and she must put aside her own fears to help the siblings settle in with their new parents. But she can't shake the feeling of dread as she waves them goodbye. A few months later, Maggie's worst nightmares come true when she learns that the children have been handed back to the care of social services following the breakdown of the adoption. Maggie must fight to get the children returned to her, but is it too late to undo the damage that has been done?

This Little Piggy

Author: Bea Davenport

Publisher: Legend Press Ltd

ISBN: 1909878626

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 8884


The author of In Too Deep delivers a “gripping, devastating and utterly absorbing” thriller of a shocking murder and a community in turmoil (Emma Kavanagh, author of The Missing Hours). It’s the summer of 1984 and there is a sense of unease on the troubled Sweetmeadows estate. The residents are in shock after the suspicious death of a baby and tension is growing due to the ongoing miners’ strike. Journalist Clare Jackson follows the story as police botch the inquiry and struggle to contain the escalating violence. Haunted by a personal trauma she can’t face up to, Clare is shadowed by nine-year-old Amy, a bright but neglected little girl who seems to know more about the incident than she’s letting on. As the days go on and the killer is not found, Clare ignores warnings not to get too close to her stories and in doing so, puts her own life in jeopardy. Praise for Bea Davenport’s In Too Deep “[A] moody, disquieting debut [that] focuses on an unlikely friendship between two women.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “A tense and suspenseful debut.”—Margaret Murphy, author of Darkness Falls “A taut and suspenseful psychological thriller which marks her as a writer to watch and an exciting new voice in crime fiction.”—But Books Are Better “One of those compulsive reads that draws you in from the start . . . a clever story.”—Cleopatra Loves Books

The Four of Us

Author: Margaret Pemberton

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447230620

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 5389


Four very different girls from different worlds meet on their first day of school in 1962. Artemis is the daughter of a self-made man; Geraldine is from an upper-class family; Kiki’s father is a doctor and Primmie is a scholarship girl. They are inseparable, and when they leave school and move into a flat together it seems perfect. But it doesn’t take long for their illusions about each other to be shattered, and they go their separate ways. Each of them has a reason for not wishing to rekindle their friendship, so, years later, when Primmie posts a message on Friends Reunited in the hope that her old friends will make contact, the results are surprising . . . ‘A charming light romance, suitable for popular reading collections’ Booklist ‘Margaret Pemberton is one of the best saga writers around’ The Bookseller

Secrets and Dreams

Author: Jean Ure

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007554001

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 3099


The latest novel from bestselling author Jean Ure - perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy

The to Z of You and Me

Author: James Hannah

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473508940

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 9051


AN OBSERVER 'NEW FACE OF FICTION 2015' AN AMAZON RISING STAR 2015 'Genuinely one of the best books I've read ever read' LISA JEWELL 'Spare, poignant and with a quirky charm all of its own, it reminds us how kind people can be.' RACHEL JOYCE 'Absolutely bloody heartrending. Hannah's eccentric style is never mawkish and often wonderfully funny' - THE TIMES 'Hannah writes with emotional acuity. Warm, wry, thoughtful and devastating in places, this is a life-enhancing missive from death's door' - THE SUNDAY TIMES A striking literary debut of love and mortality perfect for fans of quirky, heart-wrenching fiction like Nathan Filer, David Nicholls and Rachel Joyce. Ivo has all kinds of everyday joy in his life – he’s young, he's in love, he has friends who promise to stand by him if life ever goes wrong.Then one day, life does go wrong. He makes a mistake, and it’s big and unforgiveable. Now time is running out and his life is falling apart. But he’s going to put it together again. His own way. This is a story about how far love must stretch to gather a life in pieces. And how strong friendship never dies.