Traveling Mercies

Author: Anne Lamott

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN: 0375409173

Category: Religion

Page: 288

View: 9199


Anne Lamott claims the two best prayers she knows are: "Help me, help me, help me" and "Thank you, thank you, thank you." She has a friend whose morning prayer each day is "Whatever," and whose evening prayer is "Oh, well." Anne thinks of Jesus as "Casper the friendly savior" and describes God as "one crafty mother." Despite--or because of--her irreverence, faith is a natural subject for Anne Lamott. Since Operating Instructions and Bird by Bird, her fans have been waiting for her to write the book that explained how she came to the big-hearted, grateful, generous faith that she so often alluded to in her two earlier nonfiction books. The people in Anne Lamott's real life are like beloved characters in a favorite series for her readers--her friend Pammy, her son, Sam, and the many funny and wise folks who attend her church are all familiar. And Traveling Mercies is a welcome return to those lives, as well as an introduction to new companions Lamott treats with the same candor, insight, and tenderness. Lamott's faith isn't about easy answers, which is part of what endears her to believers as well as nonbelievers. Against all odds, she came to believe in God and then, even more miraculously, in herself. As she puts it, "My coming to faith did not start with a leap but rather a series of staggers." At once tough, personal, affectionate, wise, and very funny, Traveling Mercies tells in exuberant detail how Anne Lamott learned to shine the light of faith on the darkest part of ordinary life, exposing surprising pockets of meaning and hope.

Traveling Mercies

Author: John Scholte

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1449048757

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 196

View: 1453


This book describes a journey through life. While it is intended to entertain, it is also intended to show that when the chips are down one must go on and make the best of things. At the same time, life should not be taken too seriously. As the saying goes, you only live once. A good part of my childhood took place during the war which was a dangerous time for our elders, but for us kids it was all a big adventure. Either way, we got through it! Later, a college education became a must even though my parents felt that we were "working people," and we did not need a higher education. Nevertheless, I persevered and got my education, (with some help from Uncle Sam, ) and it opened worlds to me that I might have never known. The book is not intended to be religious; however, I cannot feel but that God has a hand in things which shows in my life, perhaps not always immediately but upon some reflection. Finally, as I said, the book is intended to entertain. If the reader gets a kick out of it and if it causes him or her to reflect a little upon his or her own life, writing it will have been worthwhile!

Arabs in America

Author: Michael Suleiman

Publisher: Temple University Press

ISBN: 1566397278

Category: Social Science

Page: 355

View: 4683


For many North Americans, Arab Americans are invisible, recalled only when words like "terrorism" or "anti-American sentiments" arise. However, people of Arab descent have been contributing to U. S. an d Canadian culture since the 1870s in fields as diverse as literature, science, politics, medicine, and commerce -- witness surgeon Michael DeBakey, former Oregon governor Victor Atiyeh, consumer advocate Ralph Nader, and Canadian M.P. Mac Harb. Yet while Arab American contributions to our society are significant and Arab Americans surpass the U.S. average in both education and economics, they still struggle for recognition and acceptance. In this volume, editor Michael Suleiman brings together 21 prominent scholars from a wide range of perspectives -- including anthropology, economics, history, law, literature and culture, political science, and sociology -- to take a close look at the status of Arabs in North America. Topics range from the career of Arab American singer, dancer, and storyteller Wadeeha Atiyeh to a historical examination of Arab Americans and Zionism. The contributors discuss in Detroit, a group of well-educated Jordanian men, and the Shi'a Muslims -- to illustrate the range of Arab emigre experience. More broadly, they examine Arab American identity, political activism, and attempts by Arab immigrants to achieve respect and recognition in their new homes. They address both the present situation for Arab Americans and prospects for their future. Arabs in America will engage anyone interested in Arab American studies, ethnic studies, and American studies.

Autumn

Author: Gary Schmidt,Susan M. Felch,Mary Azarian

Publisher: SkyLight Paths Publishing

ISBN: 1594731187

Category: Nature

Page: 299

View: 5586


Discover how this transitional season can reveal both the abundance and the limitations of our everyday lives. Autumn, with all its traditional images of colorful trees, frost-covered pumpkins, and piles of wood stored up against winter's cold, can be a season filled with anticipation. The harvest, the imminent onset of cold and snow, the resumption of old routines, and the beginning of the school year all require preparation and planning. If summer has been something of a pause, autumn helps us to see the passage of time more clearly. Autumn is a season of fruition and reaping, of thanksgiving and celebration of abundance and goodness of the earth. But it is also a season that starkly and realistically encourages us to see our own limitations. Warm and stirring pieces by E. B. White, Anne Lamott, P. D. James, Julian of Norwich, May Sarton, Kimiko Hahn, and many others in this beautiful book rejoice in autumn as a time of preparation and reflection, when the results of hard labor are ripe for harvest.

Caring for Words in a Culture of Lies

Author: Marilyn Chandler McEntyre

Publisher: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing

ISBN: 0802848648

Category: Religion

Page: 242

View: 627


The author offers 12 strategies of stewardship for those concerned with preserving the vitality and precision of the spoken and written word.

Travel Devotional for Women

Author: BroadStreet Publishing Group LLC

Publisher: BroadStreet Publishing Group LLC

ISBN: 1424560349

Category: Religion

Page: 160

View: 4155


Travel Devotional for Women is a devotional book designed to inspire travelers to make space in their adventure-filled days for some time with God. This book offers 52 devotions that tie together a travel-related theme with Scripture and spiritual food for thought. It can be used for a single journey or multiple adventures, for anything from a long weekend road trip to a once-in-a-lifetime overseas excursion. At the end of each devotion is a thought-provoking question or action-step to help you personalize what you’ve read. There’s also some journaling space to respond to what God’s teaching you, write out a prayer, or log what you see and do each day. It’s totally up to you! Just remember, wherever you go, you never travel alone. God is with you every step of the way. - Beautifully designed full-color interior - Spot gloss, debossed, pearlescent cover - High quality interior paper - Inspiring devotions - Encouraging Scriptures - Prayers - Ribbon marker

God Is With You Wherever You Go

Author: Vicki Kuyper

Publisher: BroadStreet Publishing Group LLC

ISBN: 1424550777

Category: Religion

Page: 160

View: 8460


God Is With You Wherever You Go is a devotional book designed to inspire travelers to make space in their adventure-filled days for some time with God. This book offers 52 devotions that tie together a travel-related theme with Scripture and spiritual food for thought. It can be used for a single journey or multiple adventures, for anything from a long weekend road trip to a once-in-a-lifetime overseas excursion. At the end of each devotion is a thought-provoking question or action-step to help you personalize what you have read. There is also some journaling space to respond to what God is teaching you, write out a prayer, or log what you see and do each day. It is totally up to you! Just remember, wherever you go, you never travel alone. God is with you every step of the way.

Believe! Believer! Put Some Super On That Natural!

Author: Kimberly Johnson

Publisher: Christian Faith Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 1098059522

Category: Religion

Page: 270

View: 4395


Believe! Believer! Put Some Super on That Natural! is a book written to encourage you as a believer of our Lord Jesus Christ as you further believe in Him, grow thru prayer, and to lean, rely, and confidently trust in our Lord and Savior with all your heart. Believe now and recognize the Spirit of Truth, Holy Spirit, our ever-present supernatural help, will guide us through this natural world when we acknowledge Him and heed His voice. He will never fail!Believe! Believer! Put Some Super on That Natural! shares with you lessons of the heart learned by the author. There is a journaling section for recording your prayers, scriptures, and instructions from God, which can be a helpful tool for you to see them written out. So when we receive revelation from our Lord God, tell others about His divine wisdom and acknowledge. May we grow together in this world as we increase in our prayer life and walk in our predestined God-given purpose on earth.We accepted Christ Jesus, our Redeemer, by believing. Believer, be assured and set your heart to believe our supernatural Lord God hears our prayers, and if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him. Be confident that our prayers are answered when we first pray them. The Lord God truly wants to bless you so! He is ever mindful of us! Let's be a person after God's own heart! For the heart of the matter is a matter of the heart! Believe! Believer!

I Ain't Doin' It

Author: Heather Land

Publisher: Howard Books

ISBN: 1982104104

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 2880


Social media comedian and southern sweetheart Heather Land delivers her hilarious and unfiltered wisdom on the frustrating everyday moments that drive us crazy. Heather Land has something to say about almost everything in life—the unbelievable, inconceivable, and downright frustrating—and why she “ain’t doin’ it.” Now, Heather shines a light on the (occasional) ridiculousness of life through a series of hilarious essays, dishing on everything from Walmart and ex-husbands to Southern beauty pageants and unfortunate trips to the gynecologist. I Ain’t Doin’ It reminds us that when it comes to life’s messy moments, it’s all about perspective—and that we too can say, I ain’t doin’ it! Perfect for fans of Jim Gaffigan, Anjelah Johnson, and Brian Regan, I Ain’t Doin’ It is a fun, breezy read for anyone who appreciates someone who tells it like it is and wants to embrace the lighter side of life.

The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature

Author: George Thomas Kurian,James D. Smith, III

Publisher: Scarecrow Press

ISBN: 9780810872837

Category: Religion

Page: 732

View: 7533


Covering 2,000 years, this two-volume set is the first encyclopedia devoted to Christian writers and books. In addition to an overview of the Christian literature, this encyclopedia includes more than 40 essays on the principal genres of Christian literature and more than 400 bio-bibliographical essays describing the principal writers and their works.