Body Theology

Author: James B. Nelson

Publisher: Westminster John Knox Press

ISBN: 9780664253790

Category: Religion

Page: 216

View: 2589


Nelson offers an incarnational way of doing theology in this unique book. He takes body experiences seriously and views sexuality as central to the mystery of human experience and to the human relationship with God. He seeks to identify what Scripture and tradition say about sexuality and focuses on sexual theology, men's issues, and biomedical ethics.

Apollo 1

Author: Ryan S. Walters

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 168451147X

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 6761


On January 27, 1967, astronauts Gus Grissom, Ed White, and Roger Chaffee climbed into a new spacecraft perched atop a large Saturn rocket at Kennedy Space Center in Florida for a routine dress rehearsal of their upcoming launch into orbit, then less than a month away. All three astronauts were experienced pilots and had dreams of one day walking on the moon. But little did they know, nor did anyone else, that once they entered the spacecraft that cold winter day they would never leave it alive. The Apollo program would be perilously close to failure before it ever got off the ground. But rather than dooming the space program, this tragedy caused the spacecraft to be completely overhauled, creating a stellar flying machine to achieve the program’s primary goal: putting man on the moon. Apollo 1 is a candid portrayal of the astronauts, the disaster that killed them, and its aftermath. In it, readers will learn: How the Apollo 1 spacecraft was doomed from the start, with miles of uninsulated wiring and tons of flammable materials in a pure oxygen atmosphere, along with a hatch that wouldn’t open How, due to political pressure, the government contract to build the Apollo 1 craft went to a bidder with an inferior plan How public opinion polls were beginning to turn against the space program before the tragedy and got much worse after Apollo 1 is about America fulfilling its destiny of man setting foot on the moon. It’s also about the three American heroes who lost their lives in the tragedy, but whose lives were not lost in vain.

The Life and Traditions of the Red Man

Author: Joseph Nicolar

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN: 9780822340287

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 222

View: 3496


DIVLargely unknown and uncirculated, this is the only 19-century book-length work in English by a member of the eastern, Algonquian speaking people. Published in 1893, Joseph Nicolar, elder and leader of the Penobscot nation, eloquently tells the story of t/div

Round About the Earth

Author: Joyce E. Chaplin

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416596208

Category: History

Page: 560

View: 3200


An account of the history of circumnavigation and how it has influenced the way people think about the Earth, profiling the early quests of famous historical figures, and the innovations that enabled world travel.

Daughter of the Forest: A Sevenwaters Novel 1

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Pan Australia

ISBN: 9781741984958

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 9477


The first book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series "I enjoyed it immensely... For an Irish resident, familiar with the mores and customs, Daughter of the Forest had special meaning and relevance." Anne McCaffrey "This saga will hold you entranced" Australian Women's Weekly Daughter of the Forest is a mixture of history and heritage, myth and magic, legend and love. Lord Colum of Sevenwaters is blessed with seven children but it is Sorcha, the youngest child and only daughter, who alone is destined to defend her family and protect their land from the invading Britons. For Sorcha is the only one who escapes the cruel influence of Lady Oonagh, her father's new wife. Exiled from Sevenwaters and cast out into the forest and the terrifying world beyond, Sorcha falls into the hands of the feared enemy. Now she is torn between a life she has always known and a love that only comes once. Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

Mercury Rising: John Glenn, John Kennedy, and the New Battleground of the Cold War

Author: Jeff Shesol

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 1324003251

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 8057


A riveting history of the epic orbital flight that put America back into the space race. If the United States couldn’t catch up to the Soviets in space, how could it compete with them on Earth? That was the question facing John F. Kennedy at the height of the Cold War—a perilous time when the Soviet Union built the wall in Berlin, tested nuclear bombs more destructive than any in history, and beat the United States to every major milestone in space. The race to the heavens seemed a race for survival—and America was losing. On February 20, 1962, when John Glenn blasted into orbit aboard Friendship 7, his mission was not only to circle the planet; it was to calm the fears of the free world and renew America’s sense of self-belief. Mercury Rising re-creates the tension and excitement of a flight that shifted the momentum of the space race and put the United States on the path to the moon. Drawing on new archival sources, personal interviews, and previously unpublished notes by Glenn himself, Mercury Rising reveals how the astronaut’s heroics lifted the nation’s hopes in what Kennedy called the "hour of maximum danger."

The Sevenwaters Trilogy

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN: 1250206669

Category: Fiction

Page: 1376

View: 9741


This discounted ebundle of the award-winning Sevenwaters Trilogy includes: Daughter of the Forest, Son of the Shadows, Child of the Prophecy “Juliet Marillier is among the most skilled of fantasy writers” --Sara Douglass Daughter of the Forest A beautifully re-imagined version of the Six Swans myth. Lovely Sorcha is the seventh child and only daughter of Lord Colum of Sevenwaters. Bereft of a mother, she is comforted by her six brothers who love and protect her. But Sorcha's joy is shattered when her father is bewitched by his new wife, an evil enchantress who binds her brothers with a terrible spell, a spell which only Sorcha can lift--by staying silent. Son of the Shadows Beautiful Sorcha is the courageous young woman who risked all to save her family from a wicked curse and whose love shattered generations of hate and bridged two cultures. It was by her sacrifice that the spell was broken and her brothers were finally brought home to Sevenwaters. But not all her brothers were able to escape the spell that transformed them into swans, and even those who did were more-and less-than they were before the change. It is left to Sorcha's daughter, Liadan, to fulfill the destiny of the Sevenwaters clan Child of the Prophecy Magic is fading... and the ways of Man are driving the Old Ones to the West, beyond the ken of humankind. The prophecies of long ago have foretold a way to prevent this horror, and it is the Sevenwaters clan that the spirits of Eire look to for salvation. They are a family bound into the lifeblood of the land, and their promise to preserve the magic has been the cause of great joy to them... as well as great sorrow. Other Tor books by Juliet Marillier Saga of the Light Isles Wolfskin Foxmask The Bridei Chronicles The Dark Mirror Blade of Fortriu The Well of Shades At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

JFK and the Masculine Mystique

Author: Steven Watts

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1466851155

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 2143


From very early on in his career, John F. Kennedy’s allure was more akin to a movie star than a presidential candidate. Why were Americans so attracted to Kennedy in the late 1950s and early 1960s—his glamorous image, good looks, cool style, tough-minded rhetoric, and sex appeal? As Steve Watts argues, JFK was tailor made for the cultural atmosphere of his time. He benefited from a crisis of manhood that had welled up in postwar America when men had become ensnared by bureaucracy, softened by suburban comfort, and emasculated by a generation of newly-aggressive women. Kennedy appeared to revive the modern American man as youthful and vigorous, masculine and athletic, and a sexual conquistador. His cultural crusade involved other prominent figures, including Frank Sinatra, Norman Mailer, Ian Fleming, Hugh Hefner, Ben Bradlee, Kirk Douglas, and Tony Curtis, who collectively symbolized masculine regeneration. JFK and the Masculine Mystique is not just another standard biography of the youthful president. By examining Kennedy in the context of certain books, movies, social critiques, music, and cultural discussions that framed his ascendancy, Watts shows us the excitement and sense of possibility, the optimism and aspirations, that accompanied the dawn of a new age in America.