You Don't Have to Like Me

Author: Alida Nugent

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698176030

Category: Humor

Page: 240

View: 1793


“Hilarious...[Nugent] documents her journey to feminism while skewering misogynist tropes and delivering some painful truths.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Feminist” is not a four-letter word, but Alida Nugent resisted it for a long time. She feared the “scarlet F” being thrust upon her for refusing to laugh at misogynistic jokes at parties; she withered under the judgmental gaze of store clerks when buying Plan B, and she swore that she was “not like other girls.” But eventually, like so many of us, she discovered that feminism is an empowering identity to take on. It’s okay to criticize beauty standards but still love dark lipstick, investing in female friendships is the most rewarding thing ever, and no woman should feel pressured to eat an “unseasoned chicken breast the size of a deck of playing cards” as every sad dinner for the rest of eternity. With sincerity, intelligence, and wit, Nugent invites readers in to her most private moments of personal growth. From struggling with an eating disorder for most of her teen years to embracing all aspects of her biracial identity, she tackles tough topics with honest vulnerability making it a perfect gift for teens and young adults. Smartly-written, unapologetic, and laugh-out-loud funny, You Don’t Have to Like Me is perfect for readers of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, and Sloane Crosley.

You Don't Have to Say You Love Me

Author: Sherman Alexie

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316270768

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 464

View: 7043


A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, loss, and forgiveness from the critically acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award-winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. Family relationships are never simple. But Sherman Alexie's bond with his mother Lillian was more complex than most. She plunged her family into chaos with a drinking habit, but shed her addiction when it was on the brink of costing her everything. She survived a violent past, but created an elaborate facade to hide the truth. She selflessly cared for strangers, but was often incapable of showering her children with the affection that they so desperately craved. She wanted a better life for her son, but it was only by leaving her behind that he could hope to achieve it. It's these contradictions that made Lillian Alexie a beautiful, mercurial, abusive, intelligent, complicated, and very human woman. When she passed away, the incongruities that defined his mother shook Sherman and his remembrance of her. Grappling with the haunting ghosts of the past in the wake of loss, he responded the only way he knew how: he wrote. The result is a stunning memoir filled with raw, angry, funny, profane, tender memories of a childhood few can imagine, much less survive. An unflinching and unforgettable remembrance, You Don't Have to Say You Love Me is a powerful, deeply felt account of a complicated relationship.

You Don't Have to Say You Love Me

Author: Sarra Manning

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446438961

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 9533


Somewhere between losing weight and losing her inhibitions, Neve's lost her heart - but to who? 'A deliciously addictive tale of romance and reinvention' Marie Claire Sweet, bookish Neve Slater always plays by the rules. And the number one rule is that good-natured fat girls like her don't get guys like gorgeous, handsome William, heir to Neve's heart since university. But William's been in LA for three years, and Neve's been slimming down and re-inventing herself so that when he returns, he'll fall head over heels in love with the new, improved her. So she's not that interested in other men. Until her sister Celia points out that if Neve wants William to think she's an experienced love-goddess and not the fumbling, awkward girl he left behind, then she'd better get some, well, experience. What Neve needs is someone to show her the ropes, someone like Celia's colleague Max. Wicked, shallow, sexy Max. And since he's such a man-slut, and so not Neve's type, she certainly won't fall for him. Because William is the man for her... right?

Access

Author: Doreen DeLuca

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Social Science

Page: 240

View: 8515


A companion volume to their previous study Signs and Voices, this collection addresses technological, institutional, and societal advances in access for deaf people.

Riding with the Queen

Author: Jennie Shortridge

Publisher: Berkley

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 331

View: 6575


After seventeen years on the road in pursuit of her dream of becoming a rock star, thirty-four-year-old Tallie Beck finds her life on the skids and is forced to return home to Denver and to her crazy mother and resentful younger sister.

Will You Be Mine

Author: Lexi Buchanan

Publisher: HFCA Publishing House

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 7162


Marriages and babies everywhere drove me to leave town, I just hadn’t expected to end up stranded on the Island of St. Martin in the Caribbean nor did I expect to have to share a room with the charter pilot. The one and only, Ford Sinclair, best friend of Ryan Townsend, my sister Amanda’s, fiancé. The same man I’d refused to have a one-night stand with at my sister, Robin’s wedding. I hadn’t left home for anything but peace and quiet, what I found was a troubled man who also happened to be sexy, persuasive and dirty mouthed. The Kincaid Sisters is a Bad Boy Rocker spinoff series about Reece Kincaid’s (Past Sins: Spicy) sisters. Book 1 – Meant to be Mine (Jessie Kincaid) Book 2 – You Were Always Mine (Amanda Kincaid) Book 3 – Will You be Mine (Sarah Kincaid)

Reconsider Baby

Author: Ernst Jorgensen,Erik Rasmussen,Johnny Mikkelsen

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 308

View: 663


How to be Hap-hap-happy Like Me

Author: Merrill Markoe

Publisher: Viking Press

ISBN: 9780670853328

Category: Humor

Page: 205

View: 6267


Full of insight into modern times, the author looks at different "how to be happy" suggestions, finding a series of witty and telling misadventures