Zero to 60

Author: Tony Quinn

Publisher: Penguin Random House New Zealand Limited

ISBN: 1775538893

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 4879


From growing up in a wooden caravan to building his own state-of-the-art racetrack, this is the remarkable story of Targa champion, Hampton Downs and Highlands Motorsport Park owner Tony Quinn. On a clear and frosty morning in 2012, in the small, Central Otago town of Cromwell, Tony Quinn and his son Klark stood with an iPad at the edge of an expansive basin of scrub and grass sketching the curves, corners and chicanes of an imaginary racetrack. Less than 18 months later, Cromwell was abuzz at the inaugural Highlands 101, with visitors from all over Australasia flocking to Highlands Motorsport Park for the opening of the new 25-million-dollar racing circuit. To some people, building a racetrack in the back-country might have seemed like an impossible dream, but not to Tony Quinn. ‘To be successful in life you have to think positive and in motorsport, you’ll never win a race unless you’re truly convinced that you can,’ he says. ‘I turn 60 soon and while I’ve achieved a lot in business and motorsport, I’d like to think there’s a lot more to come.’ Having grown up in a wooden caravan in Scotland, it’s been a heck of a journey for a self-made millionaire and petrolhead who also owns Hampton Downs, Darrell Lea Confectionery and a mega-mansion on the Gold Coast. After selling a failed lawn mowing business called the 'Lawn Ranger' in Western Australia, Tony moved to New Zealand in 1994. As Tony says, 'Where there's shite, there's money'. Starting out with a plan to get rid of dead cows in Dargaville, Tony founded a fat-rendering plant called Fatman, which sowed the seeds for a remarkable story of success in pet food, culminating in selling his business, VIP Petfoods, for over 400 million dollars in 2015.

0 to 60

Author: Susan Slater

Publisher: Secret Staircase Books, an imprint of Columbine Publishing Group

ISBN: 164914069X

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 6092


Publishers Weekly calls Susan Slater “… witty and absorbing …” Shelly Sinclair's life seems perfect—marriage to a successful Albuquerque doctor, two grown boys, a beautiful home in the foothills of the Sandia Mountains, financial and emotional security. Until the night of Ed’s retirement party and their thirty-fifth anniversary celebration, on the heels of her 60th birthday. That’s when her perfect husband chooses to announce that he's asked someone to marry him—a someone thirty-nine years his junior. And, oh yes, she’s the mother of his four-year-old child. Alone. At sixty. To start over. Complicated by the reactions from her sons and friends, Shelly has to figure things out, one step at a time. Choosing a new home, receiving an emergency call to deal with her elderly parents, and dating for the first time in decades. At each new roadblock, Ed tends to show up, complicating matters with the pretense that he’s there for her. Just when she has seemingly met the real Mr. Right, even though being with him would mean leaving her beloved New Mexico, there comes another big loss and a threat to her life. Can Shelly cope with all the changes and remake her life to be exactly what she wants for herself? Called zany, sexy, and poignant, with plenty of twists, 0-60 was optioned by Hollywood immediately after it was first published. A book club favorite and perfect for fans of Elana Johnson and Rachel Hanna. Includes Book Club discussion questions. Praise for 0-60 and Susan Slater: “I laughed and I cried … and I loved the ending! Shelly's a champion for middle aged women everywhere. I can so easily see this story on the big screen (wouldn't Susan Sarandon be the perfect Shelly?) Slater has another winner here!” – Connie Shelton, USA Today bestselling author “Shelly's story will make you want to laugh, cry, scream and carry on right alongside her. Goes to show how strong we can be by the time we've lived 60 plus years. Bravo Ms. Slater!” – Quatrano, 5 star online review “If you like surprising twists and turns this book certainly will offer you some. Right from the very first sentence on you are supplied with one jaw-dropping-moment after another. Keeps you reading - kept me up the first night until 5:30 am. I believe that this book would make a great movie.” – 5 stars “I loved "0 to 60!" What an entertaining book! It's sexy and stylish, while at the same time addressing a serious subject: starting over at 60.” – J.P. 5 stars online review “As I turned the pages I realized that Shelly was everything that I ever wanted to be. As situations arose, some that I have experienced, I watched her rise up and overcome … a refreshing look at what could happen to any one of us at any given moment. It is funny, thrilling, surprising, and never a dull moment!” – 5 stars “… definitely enjoyed the author's smooth writing style, plus the protagonist's positive attitude and sense of humor. I can see why Hollywood came calling. I will certainly read more of Susan Slater's work.” – JPE, 5 stars, online review

From 0 to 60

Author: Barbara Lewter-Speller

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1663222134

Category: Poetry

Page: 122

View: 556


This book of poems is a rollercoaster of pure unadulterated emotions tethered with innermost thoughts poured onto paper for the world to see. It contains words of agony, joy, self-realization, quiet prayers and deepest sentiments for others; together with the knowledge that God and time will see one through life’s long journey. Intentionally and for personal reasons, the poems are not completely aligned in chronological order; so just enjoy the ride!

Technical Manual

Author: United States. War Department

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7239


EV - Electric Vehicles Come Home

Author: Dale Stubbart

Publisher: Dale Stubbart

ISBN: N.A

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 173

View: 4591


In my first book on Electric Cars, I covered those which were available in the US. In my new book, I decided to cover the world. I also venture into Electric Planes and EVTOLS - Electric Vertical Takeoff and Landing machines. Even though EVs are very interesting, you might get bored after the 100th or so. To relieve your boredom, I inserted stories about my visits from a couple of outer space aliens who are very interested in Electric Cars. Who says you can't mix research books with sci-fi and humor? I start with the most popular EVs. I cover many parts of the globe. And I cover lesser known Electric cars. Some places around the world don't have good roads or the roads are too crowded. There, electric motorcycles, rickshaws, and other vehicles are more popular than electric cars. And did you know that there's an electric skateboard? Electric Cars come in several models - Sedans, SUVs, Crossovers, Hatchbacks, etc. There are even little electric bubble cars. And there's a Amphibious E-Tricycle Camper. Now is a good time to get into an EV - there's availability. You'll get good range. And you'll save money on gas and maintenance. Besides, bans on ICE vehicles (internal combustion engine - petrol powered cars) are coming. Maybe not tomorrow, but soon. And supermost of all, owning an EV is cool and the wave of the future. And you want to get into the action now because you want to ride the crest of the wave. Some people are still worried about - what happens if the battery dies. I cover that. Good news - not a problem. I also cover converting your car to an EV (or rather hiring someone to do that for you) and EV Rentals. I conclude the book with what it would take to own an EV Dealership, My EV choices, and statements by World Leaders on EVs. I evaluate the more popular cars and provide a blank evaluation form so you can make your own evaluations. This book is packed with information, but I keep it light so you won't get bored. Actually, that's not true. I kept it light so that I wouldn't get bored.

Artificial Intelligence Marketing and Predicting Consumer Choice

Author: Steven Struhl

Publisher: Kogan Page Publishers

ISBN: 0749479566

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 272

View: 7077


The ability to predict consumer choice is a fundamental aspect to success for any business. In the context of artificial intelligence marketing, there are a wide array of predictive analytic techniques available to achieve this purpose, each with its own unique advantages and disadvantages. Artificial Intelligence Marketing and Predicting Consumer Choice serves to integrate these widely disparate approaches, and show the strengths, weaknesses, and best applications of each. It provides a bridge between the person who must apply or learn these problem-solving methods and the community of experts who do the actual analysis. It is also a practical and accessible guide to the many remarkable advances that have been recently made in this fascinating field. Online resources include bonus chapters on AI, ensembles and neural nets, and finishing experiments, plus single and multiple product simulators.

Slow Car Fast

Author: Ryan K. ZumMallen

Publisher: Carrara Media

ISBN: 0578560372

Category: Transportation

Page: 268

View: 4302


Slow Car Fast: The Millennial Mantra Changing Car Culture for Good explores the changing tides of car culture and re-examines the meaning of being a “car guy” in 2020. Veteran automotive journalist Ryan K. ZumMallen parses this world through the drivers, tuners and designers that live and breathe it against the fertile backdrop of Southern California. How did horsepower and speed get so out of control? Do young people still like cars? Who are the automotive icons that will shape car culture for years to come? Slow Car Fast offers answers to the questions on the mind of every kid who grew up with a poster on their wall and dreamed of owning their dream car one day, ferreted out through first-hand reporting on the ground. ZumMallen goes inside the automotive zeitgeist to explain how modern car culture came to be, from the old-school (massive improvements in engineering and technology) to the new-school (the rise of video games and social media). Featuring interviews with dozens of influential voices and ride-alongs in today's automotive unicorns, Slow Car Fast is a must-have eBook for anyone who knows that getting behind the wheel is only the beginning.

Corvette C5

Author: Patrick C. Paternie

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781610608985

Category: Transportation

Page: 134

View: 1859


Learn the full story of the best Corvette yet created in this history of Chevrolet's groundbreaking C5. Introduced in 1997, the C5 set new benchmarks for performance and provided an American player on the world's sports car scene.In this book, veteran automotive writer Patrick C. Paternie covers the car's stormy development period, successful launch, it's development over its years of production (including the awesome Z06 model), its racing accomplishments, and a special chapter devoted to the greatest C5-based tuner cars from around the world.